Fragrance Fascination

In the world of beauty, perfumes are my ultimate weakness. Ever since I was a kid playing with my perfume making kit, I’ve been obsessed with fragrances. Scent is known to be one of the strongest memory triggers, both this and the fact that different people are drawn to wildly different scents are some of the factors behind my fragrance fascination.

When I step into a beauty department (or any part of a department store for that matter) I’ll generally always head straight for this section…

With the vast selection of scents out there, it’s interesting how we all have our personal favourite perfumes. What draws one person to fruity, light-hearted scents, whilst others favour much more mature, musky notes? I believe our preference in perfume is a reflection of our personality. With this in mind, I asked some of my friends their favourite perfumes. After asking five friends I ended up with the following favourites: Victor & Rolf Flowerbomb, Gucci Floral, Prada D’Iris, Calvin Klein Euphoria and Gucci Guilty.

Including my own favourite perfume Gwen Stefani Harajuku Lovers Super G, here are the chosen six:

These scents range from sweet, fruity, and tropical (my own favourite) to scents with strong oriental wood notes (Prada D’Iris), and some spicy, amber florals too (Gucci Guilty). It’s sometimes hard to put your finger on what exactly it is that makes your favourite perfume just that, but I love that we all have very different preferences, and here I’ll explain my own…

Favourite perfume: Gwen Stefani Harajuku Lovers Super G (Limited Edition)

My favourite perfume is an exotic cocktail of fruity notes, dominated by zesty yellow pineapple and a citrus splash of tangerine. Other central notes in this scent include yellow freesia and banana juice, with some warmer notes in the base, mixed with a dash of sweet vanilla and raspberry.

I feel this perfume is an accurate representation of my personality and style considering I’m drawn to anything fun, bright and bold.  An all-year Hawaiian fruit cocktail in fragrance form? Yes please!

We all like to mix up our scents from time to time, and here are the 3 fragrances I switch between daily (not surprisingly, they’re all fun, fruity, and summery)…

From left: The Body Shop Strawberry Body Mist 100ml, Gwen Stefani Harajuku Lovers Super G (Limited Edition) 100ml Tester, Britney Spears Island Fantasy 100ml.

About beautyfashionpr

I'm currently PR Assistant at Beauty agency JWPR and a recent International PR Masters Graduate (with Distinction). In addition to my current role in Beauty PR, I also have previous Beauty PR experience from my time at Catalyst PR. Further experience includes copywriting, blog writing, and my position as Editorial Intern at Now Magazine. Twitter: @DawnCritchley E-mail: dawnmariecritchley@gmail.com

2 responses to “Fragrance Fascination

  1. Thanks! Had a look at your blog, love it :) xx

Leave a Reply

beautyfashionpr

beautyfashionpr

I'm currently PR Assistant at Beauty agency JWPR and a recent International PR Masters Graduate (with Distinction). In addition to my current role in Beauty PR, I also have previous Beauty PR experience from my time at Catalyst PR. Further experience includes copywriting, blog writing, and my position as Editorial Intern at Now Magazine. Twitter: @DawnCritchley E-mail: dawnmariecritchley@gmail.com

View Full Profile →

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 6,428 hits
