Nailing the Natural Make-up Look

I LOVE make-up, however, unlike my preference in fashion, when it comes to beauty, natural shades are my favourite. I’ll opt for a classic red lip from time to time, but on the whole I prefer a more natural look.

Below are six of my essential natural make-up products that I use on a day-to-day basis. From Bobbi Brown to Urban Decay, MAC to Calvin Klein, here’s some of my favourite can’t live without beauty products…

Above: Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick in Bronze, £32; Urban Decay Naked Eye Shadow Palette, £36; CK One Lipgloss in Sugar, £12;  MAC Mineralize Eye Shadow in ICE, £16.50; Urban Decay Naked Skin Beauty Balm SPF 20, £23; Bobbi Brown Lip Colour in Pale Pink, £18.

Bobbi Brown

1) Shimmer Brick in Bronze, £32

This has to be my favourite beauty product of all. I use this every day to add shimmer to my cheekbones and highlight my eyes. I’m not a fan of appearing over-bronzed, but given my pale complexion, this shimmer brick with its five complementing shades is ideal for brightening up my overall look. The lightest shade in the compact also works perfectly as a highlighting eye shadow.

2) Lip Colour in Pale Pink, £18

In terms of my favourite beauty products, coming in at a close second is my Lip Colour in Pale Pink. Bobbi Brown’s 1991 collection of 10 brown-based lipstick shades launched her career as one of the world’s leading make-up artists, and it’s easy to see why with this range of semi-matte lipsticks. After a lengthy shade sampling session, I found my perfect natural lip colour, Pale Pink. I can’t stress how much I love this lipstick!

Urban Decay

3) Naked Eye Shadow Palette, £36

This neutral eye shadow palette is far from boring, with Urban Decay providing their usual urban spin on everyday make-up. With shades ranging from pale champagne to grungy gunmetal, you can keep your look neutral without fading into the crowd with this eye shadow palette. I also think it’s a bargain at £36 given the extensive range of 12 unique shades.

4) Naked Skin Beauty Balm SPF 20, £23

It’s been hard to escape the recent rise of the BB cream and its resulting popularity, however the key difference with Urban Decay’s BB offering is that it isn’t centered around tinting, rather it defuses light with high-tech pigments. The result? Amazing, natural, naked-looking skin. Not only that it also protects, primes, AND hydrates to improve the look of your natural skin as you use it… This is definitely the best BB product out there!

MAC

5) Mineralize Eye Shadow in ICE, £16.50

Comprising a light peach base with lighter white veining, this eye shadow of baked minerals refined into a powder formula is one of my go-to everyday eye shadows. When I’m not using the lightest shade from my Bobbi Brown Shimmer Brick and want something with a bit more impact, I’ll always reach for this. Best of all, it stays put for the entire day.

CK One

6) Lipgloss in Sugar, £12

When I’m feeling more like wearing a lipgloss than a lipstick, this neutral shade from CK One is my first choice. With its slight shimmer and gorgeous vanilla scent, it’s an instant pick-me-up!

When it comes to make-up do you tend to go for the natural look, or are you all about experimenting with bright shades?

About beautyfashionpr

I'm currently PR Assistant at Beauty agency JWPR and a recent International PR Masters Graduate (with Distinction). In addition to my current role in Beauty PR, I also have previous Beauty PR experience from my time at Catalyst PR. Further experience includes copywriting, blog writing, and my position as Editorial Intern at Now Magazine. Twitter: @DawnCritchley E-mail: dawnmariecritchley@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

beautyfashionpr

beautyfashionpr

I'm currently PR Assistant at Beauty agency JWPR and a recent International PR Masters Graduate (with Distinction). In addition to my current role in Beauty PR, I also have previous Beauty PR experience from my time at Catalyst PR. Further experience includes copywriting, blog writing, and my position as Editorial Intern at Now Magazine. Twitter: @DawnCritchley E-mail: dawnmariecritchley@gmail.com

View Full Profile →

Twitter Updates

Blog Stats

  • 6,428 hits
